Random Posts

Saturday, September 10, 2011

Rubinstein Masterpiece

In 1899 the format of the championship of Russia was changed to a round robin event that was known as the All-Russian Masters' Tournament. Chigorin won the first three events in 1899, 1900/01 and 1903. The 1905/06 event was won by G. Salwe and by 1907 Chigorin was too sick to compete and the next three events were won by Rubinstein.  Here is a brilliant game by Rubinstein from the 1907 event. Rubinstein's attack is really amazing.

No comments:

Post a Comment